# The Biannual Wiebe Visser International Dairy Nutrition Prize Chairman of the Jury : Prof.dr. Gerrit J. Hiddink Leader Nutrition and Health Dutch Dairy Association

## International Dairy Nutrition Prize

- Biannual
- In commemoration to the Founder of the Utrecht Group, Drs Wiebe Visser, the Biannual Wiebe Visser International Dairy Nutrition Prize
- To raise awareness of the important dairy nutrition research (carried out by scientists, funded by Utrecht Group members) and its impact in the Nutrition World
- This year the second Prize!



#### THE WINNER 2002:

Dr. Vivienne Marie Moore Lecturer

Department of Public Health
University of Adelaide
South Australia 5005
Australia

Important and unique contribution to a new theory, "fetal and infant origins of adult disease"

cutting edge research

Investigating the nutritional basis of the fetal origins of adult disease

#### **Criteria for nominations**

- A young (≤ 42 years at COB, April 1, 2002, visionary, or creative thinker;
- Working on the cutting edge

# Nomination by Utrecht Group members The Jury: Helen Bishop-MacDonald MSc,RD, FCDAA Anne Sophie Biong MSc Dr. Joseph O'Donnell Dr. Anita Wells Prof.dr. Gerrit Hiddink (Chairman)

They made a pre-selection of 2 scientists and the decision was taken in the Business Meeting of the Utrecht Group, May 2004

### THE WINNER 2004:

Prof dr. Benoît Lamarche Chair in Nutrition, Functional Foods and Cardiovascular Health, Canada Research Chair Program

Director,
Institute on Neutraceuticals and
Functional Foods

Laval University Quebec, Canada

### Important and unique contributions:

- Metabolic syndrome and cardiovascular risk
- Characterisation of lipoproteins
- Diet and size of LDL

Cutting edge research

Communication of results to other health professionals

## The Jury and the Utrecht Group members have awarded

Prof dr. Benoît Lamarche this prestigious Prize

The Prize consists of

- US\$ 10.000,
- a signed Document,
- a small present, and
- the possibility to address this important audience